Tag Archives:


“You can see more my photo’s”

Dating scam spam just keeps on flowing – now it’s a pretended Helen from the USA who wants to find friends, and if it really was an American who wrote this, (s)he’s not better than an automatic Russian–English translation program, not only because of the silly plural apostrophes:

You can see more my photo’s

Hallo, my name’s Helen

Im 28, i live in Ashville NC, USA.
I am woman who’s looking to meet some new people and friends.
You can see more my photo’s and about me
at my Website Home Page: http://[…].110mb.com
if you wanna chat plz send me letter.

my peronal e-mail: kurey.helen@gmail.com

i’ll be wait 4 your letter with a great impatience :-) :-) :-)


p.s Du darfst mir auf dem Deutschen schreiben.
Ich verstehe ein wenig Deutsche die sprache.

The last two lines in wrong German re-translate to “You may write to me on the German. I understand a little Germans the language.”

The page (on a normal free hoster; I downloaded it with an editor, so there might actually be a browser switch that tries to infect e.g. Internet Explorer) is kind of a profile page with a few brief specifications where the city now is called “Asheville” and where she dreams about the sea and finding friends, “and if any good things developed from a solid friendship, then it would be a great bonus!!”

Yeah, sure, that’s why “she” sends the mails via a Norwegian PC (probably a zombie) with a different sender name & address.

I won’t publish the enclosed photo this time – not because it were pornographic, but because I’m scared its kitschiness might scare off my visitors. :mrgreen: Just as the other photos that are linked to on that page (which were apparently grabbed elsewhere, as the path names indicate, and which don’t contain any malware according to VirusTotal) could hardly be more kitschy.

Update: To summarize the German comments below (thanks!): “She” kept mailing the same mails to many others, mentioning “she” were back in Russia and the language becoming typical for automatic translation, “she” hardly or never reacted to what the men replied, wants to know address and airport, and finally wants money – and there you have it, just a typical love scam. So just ignore “her”!

In October, “her” name’s now Lauren…

Shout as much as you want! *

Yuliya Discoveries of the day:

  • Alleged 100% Polish girls pretending they’d like to come to Australia are asking – unlike alleged half-Polish half-Russian girls saying they want to go to Germany, see below – not immediately for name and age and thus only demand 5 instead of 10 minutes of our valuable time.
  • Dating scam spam, despite including photos, is getting more and more boring, because their English is getting better (maybe because they use simpler Russian as basis for their automatic translations) and no additional automatic translations into German are used anymore. (At least as far as my mailboxes are concerned.)
  • The scammers are apparently not dying out, as well as those falling for them, since then they wouldn’t mail their stuff anymore.


Greetings from Russia

Greetings from Russia, city St-Petersburg to you dear friend!!!
I hope that you will read this letter with interest and answer to me soon.
I don’t know how I can start my letter to you.
This letter will be short, I think.
But if you will answer to me I will write more about me and about my life.
My name is Yuliya. I’m from Russia, city St-Petersburg.
I’m 1/2 Russian and Polish. My father from Russia. My mum from Poland.
I sent my pic to you, so you can see me. I hope that you will like it.
I’m 26 years old woman. My Birthday on May, 28, 1981
The purpose of my letter: I will get the Visitor Visa on May, 2008.
I want to arrive to Germany, but I have no any friends or relativies who
can meet me on airport. I really hope that you can do it for me.
Probably we can develop our relations also.

So, please, write me on my personal E-MAIL: yuliya.logvin@gmail.com

I hope that you will have interest after reading my letter.
Also I have interest also. Please tell me:

1 – Your name
2 – Your city
3 – Your age
4 – Send me your photo also

Ok, I will close for now, but I will wait your answer so much!!!
I really hope that you will give me chance to have meeting!!!
Waiting for your answer,
Yours friend Yuliya from St-Petersburg

Well, I would have preferred a real “new Anghela”…

PS: If you, dear reader, happen to own the rights of this photo that the scammers used: a brief e-mail is sufficient and I’ll remove it. Or do you know the actual source?

* If you don’t understand the title “Shout as much as you want!”: WRITING ALL IN CAPITAL LETTERS is regarded as shouting in e-mails & co.

Anghela’s friend Nadezhda

Dating scammers – remember Anghela and once (regrettably without photos) Galina – are, of course, not that rare. This new specimen now does send country-specific mails, but without a second automatic translation – which, on one hand, doesn’t make it that intrinsically funny, on the other hand saves me the effort of trying to translate wrong German into wrong English as I did with Anghela’s mails…

Nadezhda 1 Hello! How are you? I hope that all good for you and you will read my letter with a interest. — Of course I will, but I don’t think you mean the same kind of interest as me. See, I just want to make fun of mails like yours, and you’re a confidence trickster… At least, thank you for not writing such huge mails as Anghela or Galina – even though you, too, seem to know nothing about how to use line-breaks and paragraphs.

I the girl from Russia. — C’mon, there’s only one girl in Russia?? The others all found guys to date and marry in the west? Wow, good luck for me the last one found me and no-one else! :lol:My name is Nadezhda. I am from Saint-Petersburg. I have fair hair and blue eyes. — Don’t look that blue to me in the photos. But, well, guess you never know; people have been asking “what color do my eyes look in this picture?” before… Oh, was that you, maybe??

I’m cheerful woman who like to go for sports and do all what like are usual peoples. — No need to hem and haw, say it that you like to do “it”. And, well, I’d do unusual people, too.^^ Or do you mean “do” in the sense of swindle, ruin, defeat? Doesn’t seem that far-fetched… — I am ready for creation family — What “creation family”? There’s no “creation family” here, and since that sounds like creationism-ish crap, I don’t want that.

I got your e-mail through internet dating agency. I gave my letter to agency and they have told that my letter will be send to man in Germany!!!! — Yeah, sure. But hey, you even got the country right, supposedly from my mail address’s top-level domain. Bravo! Then why didn’t you auto-translate this mail to German? Anghela used to do that… you’re not actually aware of the funny, hard-to-understand language these tools produce, are you? 8O

Nadezhda 2Some time back I’m with my girlfriend were going to go in your country as tourists for search of men for serious relations. But my girlfriend could not go with me. She had problems with your family. — What?? She didn’t know me – hey, I never even met Anghela – and already got problems with my family? How’d she know them? — It will be great if you can meet me and we can to have relations with you. — Erm, meet you, Nadezhda, or you and your girlfriend? I mean, not that I’d mind “relations” with two women at the same time, but… d’you really know what you’re writing about?

I hope that you will answer to me back it is very fast. I send you my photo. I hope that you will love my photo. — Well, you sent two. Alright, they’re hardly your photos, but anyway… and oh, you really modified your text since you sent it to Canada, (other than changing the country, of course), where it read “I hope that you will love wash a photo.”. Aww, wish I’d reveived that howler…

Well then, can I hope for more mails from you, “lovely_froggy@yahoo.com”, since “nadezhda” means “hope”?


Show complete spam mail ▼

PS: If you, dear reader, happen to own the rights of these photos that the scammers used: a brief e-mail is sufficient and I’ll remove them. Or do you know the actual source?

PPS: By sheer coincidence, this is actually the 419th post in my blog…

Ban! Liberate Virtual Cards!

No, nothing about Tibet – instead, another automatic translation from Russian (possibly via English) into German giving a potentially dangerous spam mail a funny side:

Guten Tag! Bei Ihnen die neue Postkarte. Bekommen Sie nach dieser Verbannung!

Sie haben eine virtuelle Karte erhalten!
Sie konnen die Karte innerhalb von 30 Tagen ansehen, unter der Verweisung gehend:
Klick der Verbindung auf oder Kopie es zur Adressbar des Internet-Browsers.

Befreien Virtuelle Karten!

Which re-translates to English like this (trying to translate wrong German terms into wrong English terms):

Good day! At you the new postcard. You receive after this ban/banishment!

You received a virtual card!
You can view the card within 30 days, under the relegation going:
Click of the connection on or copy it to addressbar of the internet browser.

Liberate Virtual Cards!

Well, it’s nice to receive something after being banned/banished… but the most harmless things that can happen when you click that link is that the pretended error page showers you with ads (which parts of the source code indicate – I didn’t open it in a browser) – such pages are known for trying to use security holes to infect the computer with lots of malware (cf. German Antispam Forum), so:

:arrow: Don’t click! There’s no card there!